Your challenges when it comes to Site Reliability Engineering

We’re faced with a new era in which public clouds dominate the market. In the past, customers relied on a traditional operating model that strictly separated application development and operations and where the applications were operated in the company’s own datacenter by organizational units that were explicitly responsible for doing so.

SRE, on the other hand, is what happens when you combine Software Engineering, DevOps principles, and the automation possibilities of cloud platforms to create an innovative operating concept. The previous conflicting interests of development and operations disappear, since the provision and monitoring of virtualized resources is controlled at all times, fully automatically, by scripts and build pipelines. We’re eager to help you to take this next step.

Productivity is significantly increased by SRE. Personnel costs are reduced, idle capacities are avoided, and resources are provided exactly when they’re needed.

If, on the other hand, you’re already in the cloud and the software is developed by external service providers – but these providers do not take on any operational responsibility – we can help you, too. As a full stack solution provider, as well as taking on operational responsibility, we offer development and operational services. If you’re interested in our full stack software solutions, please take a look at the section on Custom Software Development.

In our SRE team, we’re always thinking two steps ahead, and this allows us to work preventively rather than reactively. Events such as the unexpected growth of a company due to a sudden expansion can be hard to handle if you’re not prepared for them. Our solutions can master situations of this kind. Is your architecture based on automation, scalability, and reliability? Our services include the development of a robust, scalable architecture that minimizes risks, ensures that RTO (recovery time objective) and RPO (recovery point objective) goals are met, keeps application downtimes to a minimum, and safeguards data reliability.

Does your architecture already achieve your goals, but your product is not developing as quickly as the market requires? Are changes taking too long to reach production? And are you seeing errors that result in additional costs? If so, our continuous integration (CI) and continuous deployment (CD) automation concepts can help. Consequently, your development team will be able to test new versions more efficiently and get them to production faster. With our services, you’ll see an improvement in the quality of your software, since the earlier errors are detected, the less they cost to correct.

Keeping costs to manageable levels is something that always needs to be borne in mind. That’s why it makes sense to use the cloud to achieve better economic results. We need to ensure that the cloud solution works as expected, that we’re using it correctly, and that we automate all processes. Are your operations full of manual activities? One of our main objectives is to reduce the number of manual tasks and minimize human error through automation.

Does your cloud solution cost more than you’re prepared to pay? Is it the right size? Is the workload spread evenly throughout the day? Do you have problems with monitoring, tracing, or alarm management for your application? These questions lead us directly to the next point – monitoring. When your project gets started, Site Reliability Engineering (SRE) will not only contribute to designing a load-capable infrastructure that can meet all of your business and reliability requirements; in addition, it will show your development team how to implement this infrastructure correctly. And once your Website is live, SRE will continue to monitor the scalability of the application and will propose solutions if changes are required in order to ensure that all of the services in the cloud are used correctly.

What is Site Reliability Engineering?

Site Reliability Engineering
SRE is the combination of resilient and scalable application architecture design for cloud solutions, full automation of all DevOps tasks including setting up CI/CD pipelines and last but not least the necessary mechanisms to proactively identify and resolve incidents. By focusing on observability through improved metrics, logs, traces and dashboards, SRE is able to resolve issues faster and provide better alerting context to application owners. Automated testing and deployment of problem solutions and automated scaling mechanisms either avoid system outages altogether or restore system availability in the shortest possible time.

If it’s no longer possible to easily identify an error in a large set of individual parts, you need someone who can join the dots and solve the problem. Consequently, the role of site reliability engineer is a combination of developer, DevOps engineer, and system administrator.

When our SRE team works with you, you’ll see a significant improvement in comparison with the traditional approach. SRE bridges the gap between development and operations. Developers want to make new functions available to users as frequently as possible, whereas members of the operational team want to make sure that everything runs smoothly and doesn’t break. SRE enables a faster deployment for the development team, with any errors that occur being used as indicators to improve the general state of your system.

SRE uses the latest technologies so that your company can grow more quickly and reliably. Modern microservice architectures tend to be really complex but, at the same time, really beneficial for your company. SRE helps to tame this complexity.

One of their big advantages lies in discovering errors and tracking them in the network. SRE has certain basic principles and tried-and-tested methods for setting up successful monitoring, tracking, and warning systems. These make the complexities of microservices easier to master.

SRE follows a data-centric approach that focuses on the creation of systems that learn from unavoidable errors and failures. Instead of trying to prevent errors, SRE uses errors to avoid future problems and to turn an error situation into an advantage. Each time a system encounters problems, this becomes a learning experience to make the system better, more powerful, and more reliable.

SRE constantly looks for opportunities to improve the system and automate manual processes. As automation increases and human errors are increasingly removed from the equation, the reliability of the services improves. Site reliability engineers must find ways to automate small and tedious tasks that are monotonous and waste time. The automation of tasks like this allows engineers to use their time more efficiently and effectively. As a result, SRE teams – who strive for the automation of workflows over the entire software life cycle – can significantly reduce your operating costs.

The following assumptions form the basis for the use of SRE:

  • You work with agile methods and the latest technologies.
  • Your company uses a public cloud.
  • You need to cope with fast growth at your company or in certain business areas.
  • At the same time, you need to keep up with technological progress and meet the requirements of your company.

Our main objective is to ensure that your company works efficiently. We do this by applying a DevOps mentality to achieve maximum reliability and scalability. The graphic below places the most important content and topics in this area into categories:

Site reliability engineering field of activitySource: Own representation

Your benefits from using Site Reliability Engineering

There are numerous advantages that you can aim for as a result of working with our SRE team. Developers and operational teams no longer need to discuss team responsibilities or decide when it’s time to concentrate on reliability or speed, since the SRE team does this for you. Resilience should no longer be a time-consuming issue for the development team: With SRE, it’s now an inherent part of the process. Once our team is on board, you no longer need to decide between reliability and speed, since we’ll help you to achieve both. Automation is one of the priorities of our SRE team, and we work with a range of different technologies in order to achieve this.

We reduce human interaction and lift CI/CD to new heights. This means that your software can be tested and delivered in a way that meets the requirements of your development team.

The combination of reliability and an improved rollout speed provides the development team with more time. Your customers might well love your current product, but there’s always room for improvement. Successful companies never stop developing new functions or improving existing ones. And the more functions or product improvements you achieve, the more satisfied your customers will become. Our understanding of how everything is interconnected ensures that – together – we’re in a position to record the best metrics, logs, and traces across the entire architecture. This means that we can draw up a full picture of the state of health of the system.

The results for you:

  • Lower costs thanks to the tailored deployment of cloud solutions
  • Reduced personnel requirements for the operation of your solution, which also lowers costs
  • Satisfied customers thanks to better reliability and speed for your solution
  • Lower customer migration, so more business deals for you
  • Elimination of most human errors through automation
  • Better resilience, so more efficient application operation
  • Application improvements due to CI/CD, which also enables early error detection
  • A more robust system thanks to the avoidance of errors

How Site Reliability Engineering works

Is your system subject to unexpected downtimes? We can help you to achieve high system reliability by making the most of the advantages of the cloud! In a highly available system, redundancy is used to ensure that the failure of a component does not mean the failure of the entire system. Health checks can be configured to detect a failure and automatically generate new instances. What this means: No downtime and consequently a better user experience when errors occur.

Do you have peak loads that your system can’t handle? Don’t worry! We can set up your infrastructure with auto-scaling: Scale upwards when the load’s higher and downwards when the load drops. This prevents downtime, increases efficiency in high-load situations, and reduces costs because you only use the infrastructure you need.

Want more environments? We use infrastructure as code. This means that we can quickly meet your needs by recreating the entire system or conjuring up a new environment in a short period of time.

Don’t lose your data! We can enable automatic backups for your databases in the cloud. You can save your data in various availability zones and restore it again if something goes wrong. This will help you to meet your recovery point objectives (RPOs). Reduce the time needed for the release of new functions in production. We can help you to set up your CI/CD pipelines in order to perform tests automatically and roll out your new functions.

Do you use microservices? We can help you to set up an infrastructure for microservices in the cloud. Dockerize your application and operate your system with a container orchestrator such as Kubernetes or AWS ECS.

Do you always know whether your system is working as expected? Have you noticed any latency anomalies in your services? Our SRE team helps you to improve your services through the implementation of a tailored monitoring, tracing, and alarm system.

  • We work with the best available solutions such as Instana, Prometheus, Grafana, ELK, Jaeger, ZipKin and more.
  • Use OpenAPM to find out which tools are most suitable for your stack. Or collect performance, tracing, and business data from your application with inspectIT software from Novatec.

Custom OpenAPM mapSource: OpenAPM

Our Site Reliability Engineering services

Our service offering in the SRE area is multi-faceted; the process flow for an SRE initiative is always individual. But we always start with one thing: We get together with you to understand what’s important to you and what goals you wish to achieve. This gives us a better understanding of how your product works and helps us to identify the keys to its success.

As we talk further, we’ll come to understand your architecture, the reasons behind its design, and the ways in which it meets your needs. We’ll analyze existing systems using a checklist to find out how SRE can benefit your company.

Once we’ve understood your business and application at a technical level, we’ll propose a cooperative model that will help you to achieve your goals. This model can vary depending on the actual architecture and your specific needs.

In general, we come across two main situations:

  1. If we’ve not worked with you before on software development, we’ll create the infrastructure and get started!
  2. If your application was already developed with Novatec, we’ll integrate SRE into the product team.

Regardless of the issue, our SRE team is available to help with the required improvements for your product.

The work of SRE doesn’t really ever end. When your system is launched, we’ll continue to monitor the scalability of the application and we’ll offer solutions when changes are required. SRE works constantly to find new ways to improve existing systems and to automate manual processes. As a result, we improve monitoring, logging, and tracing, thus optimizing product efficiency by adapting the product in line with possible future events. We constantly monitor performance in accordance with the customer’s specifications for data protection, data security, and the efficient use of resources.

What makes us special?

We feel an obligation to look after your projects as if they were our own. We strive to understand your product, product requirements, and possibilities for optimizing the experiences of end users, and we’ll use all of our expertise to improve your product.

Try us out!

Your contacts

Novatec_Markus-Mueller

Markus Müller

Director Software Engineering

Ruben Burr

Director Software Engineering
Table of contents
Your direct contact Markus Müller Director Software Engineering
Novatec_Markus-Mueller

Ihre Herausforderungen bei Site Reliability Engineering

Wir stehen vor einer neuen Ära, in der Public Clouds den Markt beherrschen. In der Vergangenheit setzten die Kunden auf ein klassisches Betriebsmodell, bei dem Anwendungsentwicklung und Betrieb strikt getrennt waren und die Anwendungen im eigenen Rechenzentrum von explizit verantwortlichen Organisationseinheiten betrieben wurden.

SRE dagegen ist das was passiert, wenn man Software Engineering, DevOps Prinzipien und die Automatisierungsmöglichkeiten der Cloud Plattformen zu einem neuartigen Betriebskonzept kombiniert – Die bisherigen gegensätzlichen Interessen von Entwicklung und Betrieb verschwinden, da die Bereitstellung und Überwachung von virtualisierten Betriebsmitteln jederzeit und vollautomatisiert durch Skripte und Build-Pipelines gesteuert wird. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne diesen Schritt zu gehen.

Die Produktivitätssteigerung durch SRE ist ganz erheblich, Personalkosten werden gesenkt, Leerlaufkapazitäten vermieden und Betriebsmittel werden punktgenau bereitgestellt.

Wenn Sie sich andererseits bereits in der Cloud befinden und die Software von externen Dienstleistern entwickelt wird, diese aber keine operative Verantwortung übernehmen, können wir Ihnen ebenfalls helfen. Neben der Übernahme der Betriebsverantwortung bieten wir als Full-Stack-Lösungsanbieter sowohl Entwicklungs- als auch Betriebsdienstleistungen an. Wenn Sie an unseren Full-Stack-Softwarelösungen interessiert sind, schauen Sie bitte unter Individualsoftwareentwicklung.

In unserem SRE-Team denken wir immer zwei Schritte voraus, was es uns ermöglicht, präventiv statt reaktiv zu arbeiten. Dinge, wie das unerwartete Wachstum eines Unternehmens aufgrund einer plötzlichen Expansion, können schwierig zu handhaben sein, wenn man darauf nicht vorbereitet ist. Unsere Lösungen können solche Situationen bewältigen. Basiert Ihre Architektur auf Automatisierung, Skalierbarkeit und Zuverlässigkeit? Unsere Dienstleistung umfasst die Entwicklung einer robusten, skalierbaren Architektur, die Risiken mindert, die Einhaltung der Ziele zu RTO (Recovery Time Objective) und RPO (Recovery Point Objective) sicherstellt, die Ausfallzeiten von Anwendungen minimiert und die Zuverlässigkeit der Daten gewährleistet.

Ihre Architektur erfüllt bereits Ihre Ziele, Ihr Produkt entwickelt sich jedoch nicht so schnell, wie es der Markt verlangt? Änderungen dauern zu lange, bis sie in die Produktion einfließen – und dies mit Fehlern, die zusätzliche Kosten verursachen? Dann können wir mit der Automatisierung von Continuous Integration (CI) und Continuous Deployment (CD) behilflich sein. Im Ergebnis hilft dies Ihrem Entwicklungsteam, neue Versionen effizienter zu prüfen und schneller in Produktion zu bringen. Mit unserer Dienstleitung werden Sie eine Qualitätsverbesserung Ihrer Software feststellen, denn „Je früher Sie Fehler erkennen, desto kostengünstiger sind sie zu beheben”.

Wirtschaftliche Kosten sind etwas, das wir immer im Auge behalten müssen. Deshalb wird die Cloud genutzt, um bessere wirtschaftliche Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Wir müssen sicherstellen, dass die Cloud-Lösung wie erwartet funktioniert, dass wir sie richtig nutzen und dass wir alle Verfahren automatisieren. Ist Ihre operative Seite voller manueller Eingriffe? Eines unserer Hauptziele ist es, manuelle Tätigkeiten zu reduzieren, um menschliche Fehler durch Automatisierung so weit wie möglich auszuschalten.

Kostet Ihre Cloud-Lösung mehr, als Sie zu zahlen bereit sind? Ist sie richtig dimensioniert? Bewältigen Sie den ganzen Tag über die gleiche Arbeitslast oder haben Sie Probleme mit dem Monitoring, Tracing oder der Alarmierung der Anwendung? Diese Fragen führen uns direkt zum nächsten Punkt – Überwachung: Wenn das Projekt startet, wird Site Reliability Engineering (SRE) nicht nur dazu beitragen, eine belastbare Infrastruktur zu entwerfen, die alle Ihre Geschäfts- und Zuverlässigkeitsanforderungen erfüllt, sondern es wird Ihrem Entwicklungsteam auch zeigen, wie es diese korrekt umsetzen kann. Und wenn Ihre Website live ist, wird SRE weiterhin die Skalierbarkeit der Anwendung überwachen und Lösungen vorschlagen, wenn Änderungen erforderlich sind, um die richtige Nutzung aller Dienste in der Cloud zu gewährleisten.

Was ist Site Reliability Engineering?

Site Reliability Engineering
SRE wurde entwickelt, um Vorfälle proaktiv zu identifizieren und zu beheben. Durch die Konzentration auf die Beobachtbarkeit mittels verbesserter Metriken, Protokolle, Traces und Dashboards ist SRE in der Lage, Probleme schneller zu lösen und den Anwendungsverantwortlichen einen besseren Alarmkontext zu bieten. Dies ist auf das Wissen von SRE zurückzuführen und ermöglicht ein besseres Verständnis dafür, wie alles miteinander verbunden ist.

Wenn sich ein Fehler in der großen Menge einzelner Teile nicht mehr einfach identifizieren lässt, brauchen Sie jemanden, der die Punkte verbindet und das Problem beheben kann. Aus diesem Grund ist die Rolle eines Site Reliability Engineers eine Kombination aus Entwickler, DevOps-Engineer und Systemadministrator.

Wenn unser SRE-Team mit Ihnen zusammenarbeitet, werden Sie eine deutliche Verbesserung gegenüber dem traditionellen Ansatz feststellen. SRE überbrückt die Lücke zwischen Entwicklung und Betrieb. Die Entwickler möchten, dass neue Funktionen den Benutzern so häufig wie möglich zur Verfügung stehen, während die Mitglieder des Betriebsteams dafür sorgen, dass alles reibungslos läuft und nichts kaputt geht. SRE ermöglicht den Entwicklungsteams einen schnelleren Einsatz, wobei auftretende Fehler als Indikatoren zur Verbesserung des allgemeinen Zustands Ihres Systems verwendet werden können.

SRE nutzt die neuesten Technologien, damit Ihr Unternehmen schneller und sicherer wachsen kann. Technologien wie Microservices können sehr komplex sein, gleichzeitig aber auch sehr vorteilhaft für Ihr Unternehmen.

Einer ihrer größten Nachteile ist es, Fehler zu finden und sie im Netz zu verfolgen. SRE verfügt über einige Grundprinzipien und bewährte Verfahren für den Aufbau erfolgreicher Überwachungs-, Rückverfolgungs- und Warnsysteme, wodurch die Schwierigkeiten von Microservices leichter zu bewältigen sind.

SRE verfolgt einen datenzentrierten Ansatz, der sich auf die Schaffung von Systemen konzentriert, die aus unvermeidlich auftretenden Fehlern und Ausfällen lernen. Anstatt zu versuchen, Fehler zu vermeiden, nutzt SRE sie, um zukünftige Probleme zu vermeiden und eine Fehlersituation in einen Vorteil zu verwandeln. Jedes Mal, wenn das System auf Probleme stößt, wird es zu einer Lernerfahrung, die das System besser, stärker und zuverlässiger macht.

SRE sucht ständig nach Möglichkeiten, das System zu verbessern und manuelle Prozesse zu automatisieren. Da die Automatisierung zunimmt und menschliche Fehler zunehmend aus der Gleichung herausgenommen werden, wird die Zuverlässigkeit der Dienste erhöht. Site Reliability Engineers müssen herausfinden, wie kleine, mühsame Aufgaben, die monoton und zeitraubend sind, automatisiert werden können. Die Automatisierung dieser Aufgaben ermöglicht es den Engineers, ihre Zeit effizienter und effektiver zu nutzen. Infolgedessen werden SRE-Teams, die sich um die Automatisierung von Arbeitsabläufen über den gesamten Software-Lebenszyklus bemühen, Ihre Betriebskosten erheblich senken.

Grundlage beim Einsatz von SRE bilden die folgenden Annahmen:

  • Sie arbeiten mit agilen Methoden und den neuesten Technologien.
  • Ihr Unternehmen nutzt eine Public Cloud.
  • Sie müssen ein schnelles Wachstum Ihres Unternehmens oder bestimmter Geschäftsbereiche bewältigen.
  • Es ist erforderlich, dass Sie gleichzeitig Schritthalten mit dem technologischen Fortschritt und den Anforderungen Ihres Unternehmens.

Unser Hauptziel ist es, sicherzustellen, dass Ihr Unternehmen effizient arbeitet, indem wir eine DevOps-Mentalität für maximale Zuverlässigkeit und Skalierbarkeit einsetzen. Die wichtigsten Inhalte und Themen dafür haben wir in der folgenden Grafik kategorisiert:

Tätigkeitsfelder von Site Reliability Engineering.Quelle: eigene Darstellung

Ihre Vorteile bei der Nutzung von Site Reliability Engineering

Es gibt zahlreiche Vorteile, die Sie durch die Zusammenarbeit mit unserem SRE-Team erzielen können. Entwickler und Betriebsteams müssen keine Teamverantwortlichkeiten mehr diskutieren und müssen nicht entscheiden, wann es an der Zeit ist, sich auf Zuverlässigkeit oder Geschwindigkeit zu konzentrieren, da sich das SRE-Team darum kümmert. Resilienz sollte für das Entwicklungsteam kein zeitraubendes Thema mehr sein: mit SRE ist sie nun ein inhärenter Bestandteil der Vorgehensweise. Mit unserem Team an Bord müssen Sie sich nicht zwischen Zuverlässigkeit oder Geschwindigkeit entscheiden; wir helfen Ihnen, beides zu erreichen. Automatisierung ist eine der Prioritäten unseres SRE-Teams, und um Automatisierung zu erreichen, arbeiten wir mit vielen verschiedenen Technologien.

Wir reduzieren die menschliche Interaktion und heben CI/CD auf eine neue Stufe. Dies ermöglicht es, Ihre Software so zu testen und auszuliefern, wie es das Entwicklungsteam benötigt.

Die Kombination aus Zuverlässigkeit und verbesserter Bereitstellungsgeschwindigkeit bedeutet mehr Zeit für die Entwicklung. Ihr aktuelles Produkt mag von Ihren Kunden geliebt werden, aber es gibt immer Raum für Verbesserungen. Niemals hat ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen aufgehört, neue Funktionen zu entwickeln oder bestehende zu verbessern. Je mehr neue Funktionen oder Produktverbesserungen vorangetrieben werden, desto zufriedener werden die Kunden sein. Unser Verständnis dafür, wie alles miteinander verbunden ist, stellt sicher, dass wir gemeinsam in der Lage sind, die besten Metriken, Logs und Traces über die gesamte Architektur hinweg zu erfassen. Dadurch können wir ein ganzheitliches Bild vom Gesundheitszustand des Systems zeichnen.

Das Resultat für Sie ist

  • Geringere Kosten aufgrund passgenauen Einsatzes von Cloud-Lösungen.
  • Geringerer Personaleinsatz zum Betrieb Ihrer Lösung führt zu niedrigeren Kosten
  • Die erhöhte Zuverlässigkeit und Geschwindigkeit Ihrer Lösung wird Ihre Kunden erfreuen.
  • Eine geringere Abwanderungsrate der Kunden wird dazu beitragen, dass Sie mehr Geschäfte abschließen können.
  • Automatisierung eliminiert die meisten menschlichen Fehler.
  • Sie erreichen einen effizienteren Anwendungsbetrieb aufgrund der verbesserten Resilienz.
  • Das CI/CD verbessert Ihre Anwendung und ermöglicht eine frühzeitige Fehlererkennung.
  • Die Vermeidung von Fehlern macht Ihre Lösung robuster.

Die Funktionsweise von Site Reliability Engineering

Kommt es bei Ihrem System zu unerwarteten Ausfallzeiten? Wir können Ihnen helfen, eine hohe Verfügbarkeit für Ihr System zu erreichen, indem wir die Vorteile der Cloud nutzen! In einem hochverfügbaren System wird Redundanz hinzugefügt, so dass der Ausfall einer Komponente nicht den Ausfall des gesamten Systems bedeutet. Health Checks können so konfiguriert werden, dass sie einen Ausfall bemerken und automatisch neue Instanzen erzeugt werden. Dies bedeutet: Keine Ausfallzeit und damit eine bessere Nutzererfahrung im Fehlerfall.

Haben Sie eine Spitzenlast, die Ihr System nicht bewältigen kann? Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen! Wir können Ihre Infrastruktur mit Auto-Skalierung einrichten: Skalieren Sie nach oben, wenn es mehr Last gibt, und nach unten, wenn die Last abnimmt. Dies verhindert Ausfallzeiten, erhöht die Effizienz in Hochlastsituationen und senkt die Kosten, indem nur die Infrastruktur verwendet wird, die Sie benötigen.

Wollen Sie mehr Umgebungen schaffen? Wir verwenden Infrastruktur as Code. Dadurch können wir besser auf Ihre Bedürfnisse eingehen, indem wir das gesamte System neu erstellen oder in kurzer Zeit eine neue Umgebung schaffen.

Verlieren Sie Ihre Daten nicht! Wir können automatische Backups für Ihre Datenbanken in der Cloud ermöglichen. Speichern Sie Ihre Daten in verschiedenen Verfügbarkeitszonen und stellen Sie sie wieder her, wenn etwas schief geht. Dies wird Ihnen helfen, Ihre Recovery Point Objectives (RPO) zu erfüllen. Reduzieren Sie die Zeit, die für die Freigabe neuer Funktionen in die Produktion benötigt wird. Wir können Ihnen helfen, Ihre CD/CI-Pipelines einzurichten, um Ihre Tests automatisch durchzuführen und Ihre neuen Funktionen auszurollen.

Benutzen Sie Microservices? Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Einrichtung einer Infrastruktur für Microservices in der Cloud. Dockerisieren Sie Ihre Anwendung und betreiben Sie Ihr System mit einem Container-Orchestrator wie Kubernetes oder AWS ECS.

Wissen Sie jederzeit, ob Ihr System wie erwartet funktioniert? Haben Sie eine Latenz-Anomalien in Ihren Diensten festgestellt? Unser SRE-Team unterstützt Sie bei der Verbesserung Ihrer Dienste durch die Implementierung einer maßgeschneiderten Monitoring-, Tracing- und Alarmierungslösung.

  • Wir arbeiten mit den besten verfügbaren Lösungen wie instana, prometheus, grafana, ELK, Jaeger, ZipKin und anderen.
  • Finden Sie mit OpenAPM heraus, welche Tools für Ihren Stack am Besten geeignet sind. Oder sammeln Sie Leistungs-, Tracing- und Geschäftsdaten aus Ihrer Anwendung mit der Software inspectIT von Novatec.

Individuelle OpenAPM Landkarte.Quelle: OpenAPM

Unsere Dienstleitungen für Site Reliability Engineering

Unsere Dienstleistung im Bereich SRE ist vielschichtig, der Ablauf einer SRE-Initiative ist immer individuell. Eine Sache steht allerdings immer am Beginn: Wir setzen uns mit Ihnen zusammen um zu verstehen, was für Sie wichtig ist und welche Ziele Sie erreichen wollen. Dadurch gewinnen wir ein besseres Verständnis dafür, wie Ihr Produkt funktioniert und was die Schlüssel zu seinem Erfolg sind.

Weitere gemeinsame Abstimmungen dienen dazu, Ihre Architektur zu verstehen, die Gründe für das Design Ihrer Architektur und die Art und Weise, wie sie Ihren Bedürfnissen entspricht. Wir werden eine Analyse der bestehenden Systeme anhand einer Checkliste durchführen, um herauszufinden, wie SRE Ihrem Unternehmen zugutekommen kann.

Nachdem wir Ihr Geschäft und die Anwendung auf technischer Ebene verstanden haben, schlagen wir ein Kooperationsmodell vor, mit dem Sie Ihre Ziele erreichen können. Dies kann, je nach der tatsächlichen Architektur und Ihren konkreten Bedürfnissen, variieren.

Wir treffen hauptsächlich auf zwei verschiedene Situationen:

  1. Wenn es noch keine Zusammenarbeit bei der Software-Entwicklung gegeben hat, schaffen wir die Infrastruktur und legen los!
  2. Wenn die Anwendung bereits mit Novatec entwickelt wurde, integrieren wir SRE in das Produktteam.

Unabhängig von der Fragestellung steht unser SRE-Team für die notwendigen Verbesserungen an Ihrem Produkt zur Verfügung.

Schließlich endet die Arbeit von SRE nie wirklich. Wenn Ihr System in Betrieb geht, werden wir weiterhin die Skalierbarkeit der Anwendung überwachen und Lösungen anbieten, wenn Änderungen erforderlich sind. SRE arbeitet kontinuierlich daran, neue Wege zur Verbesserung bestehender Systeme zu finden und manuelle Prozesse zu automatisieren. Damit verbessern wir das Monitoring, Logging und Tracing und optimieren so die Produkteffizienz durch Anpassung an mögliche zukünftige Ereignisse. Wir überwachen ständig die Leistung im Hinblick auf die Kundenspezifikationen für Datenschutz, Datensicherheit und effiziente Ressourcennutzung.

Was macht uns so besonders?

Wir fühlen uns verpflichtet, uns um Ihre Projekte so zu kümmern, als wären es unsere eigenen. Wir sind bestrebt, Ihr Produkt, Ihre Produktbedürfnisse und die Möglichkeiten zur Optimierung des Endbenutzererlebnisses zu verstehen und all unsere Expertise zu deren Verbesserung einzubringen.

Testen Sie uns!

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Novatec_Markus-Mueller

Markus Müller

Director Software Engineering

Dominik Meyer

Managing Director
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Markus Müller Director Software Engineering
Novatec_Markus-Mueller