Do you want to make changes? We’re happy to listen!

Agile or waterfall? We’ve made our decision. And it’s because we simply don’t think long product cycles and errors during the test phase are cool. You probably don’t think so either. This is why we place our trust in innovative Software Engineering, seeing this as a holistic discipline. What does this mean for you?

It’s simple. We’ll provide support in short, iterative cycles right up to production. This ensures maximum transparency while minimizing risks: No cost explosion during the course of the project. No “ready” product that nobody actually wants to use. A constant focus on the most desirable features. Our experts think and act in an agile way, just as any true developer should.

We can prove our claim with facts:

100%
percentage of agile projects
11 m
biggest number of end-users to date
40
team size in largest project

Our services portfolio for software development

Our services

Is a standard off-the-peg solution inadequate for your business, so you want to build a custom software solution? Do you want to make your business processes mobile and need a tailored app to do so? Are your applications getting on a bit, and you want to benefit from the advantages of a migration to the cloud? If questions like this are bothering you, you should take a closer look at our Software Development offering:

Our process model

For many years, we’ve been developing software with agile methods. In this way, we significantly reduce the risk at the same time as quickly creating permanent value for your business. In our process model, we complement agile methods such as Scrum with important aspects of Software Engineering. This combination is key to developing software for you quickly and with a high quality.

The agile Novatec process modelSource: Own representation

Vision

As can be seen in the diagram, we start by defining a product vision. We do this with you at the start of each iteration, to make sure that we’re on the same page. Instead of using elaborate requirement specifications and functional specifications, we find it much more useful to obtain feedback from end users and to use it to refine the product vision.

What advantages do you get as a result of this approach? In all cases, you and we are speaking the same language, and misunderstandings are avoided. The constant improvement and adjustment of the product vision also ensures that we’re building the right thing for your needs. This means that we can sustainably increase the value of the product, minimize the risk, and make prototypes and completed products available in fast succession.

User experience (UX) & user interface (UI)

The successful implementation of a product vision is greatly dependent on the usability of the resulting solution. Here, we do not mean only the obvious aspects of the usability of a graphical Web interface or an app but also critical quality requirements for using the system, such as the execution speed, reliability, and security of the product. The sum of these factors defines the user experience (UX).

What does this mean for you? We keep the UX and UI in mind right from the start, continuing to develop both in accordance with the evolution of the product vision. Whenever possible, the user experience is tested and measured in early iterations of the implementation. Our experts then optimize it on the basis of the feedback received.

Implementation (dev)

Technologically speaking, we’re most comfortable with a modern Java stack, gladly incorporating use of Kotlin, Spring Boot, Micronaut, Quarkus, and similar frameworks for the back end. For the front end, we implement modern and well-known frameworks such as Angular, React, or Vue. It is particularly important to us that the architectures we build and use are future-proof and scalable.

We master container technologies and now realize practically all of our projects on orchestration platforms such as Kubernetes and Cloud Foundry. We strive for as much automation as possible in the entire build pipeline along with highly automated tests.

The result? We create your software using high quality standards. For us, software handicraft is our duty: We’re proud of the excellent software systems that we’ve created for our customers.

Operations (ops)

Generally speaking, we’ll place your application into use with full automation using continuous integration (CI) and continuous deployment (CD). This means that the code is integrated several times a day, automated tests check the integration, and the deployment of the software in all environments (i.e. in production) takes place automatically. In production, we ensure reliability and resilience, using methods for the automatic monitoring of the system at runtime.

A further important advantage is in the simple opportunities for scaling. We have experience in scaling up a system, even at short notice, to several million end users around the world or enabling the processing of several tens of thousands of calls each minute.

How does this benefit you? Changes to the software, whether in the form of fixing bugs or important enhancements to improve your business, can be in production in just a few minutes. Not months, as used to be the case! In addition, with the help of automation, we can achieve a constant improvement in quality. This means that we often detect errors before end users notice and report them.

Our cooperative model

Reliability, long-term partnerships on an equal footing, and a trusting working relationship at all times are the cornerstones of our project commitment.

The agile development of software is our passion – but the setup’s down to you.

  • You have the requirements but not the development team. In that case, we’ll be happy to build your software and provide the entire team in order to do so.
  • Got lots of plans and need lots of development power to go with it? Then let’s work together to build teams with exactly the skills you require.
  • Do you need targeted reinforcement? We can support you with the right colleagues in your cross-functional team.

You see… everything is on the cards, everything’s possible! And it’s even up to you whether we work on your premises or in our own offices.

But the cooperative model still hasn’t reached its limits. Thanks to agile nearshoring via our Software Engineers in Granada, Spain, we can cover your scaling needs with no problems at all. Unlike in the case of offshoring, these colleagues are in the same time zone, and they have the same expertise and enthusiasm.

What’s special about our software developers?

All of our software developers see agile development as part of their DNA. They have broad know-how of all the required tools and techniques. Their passion lies in code rather than PowerPoints. And if really specific expertise is needed, we can think and act across the disciplines: With the help of our consulting colleagues, we can provide advice on lots of topics so that you can make the right decisions for you.

We turn your ideas into reality – with agility and passion!

Most of our employees work for a single customer for several years. Quick, unnecessary project rotations are not part of our cooperative model. However, if a change is required, we’ll select the new team members in close collaboration with the customer and will ensure their smooth incorporation into the team.

Naturally, when working on projects over the course of years, it’s important to see the bigger picture. We ensure that our consultants and software developers get sufficient opportunity for the exchange of professional know-how by using our 4+1 model: As long as the project situation allows – and naturally, project requirements take precedence – our team members spend 4 days on customer project work and one day per week on internal further training projects and our communities of practice.

Our success stories

Perhaps you want to see specific examples of how we successfully conduct software development. If so, take a look at our success stories – and they’re also the success stories of our customers, of course.

These are just some examples of the projects we’ve completed in the past.

Does anything sound familiar? Do you need a similar development? Contact us and together we’ll think about how best to get your business moving by constructing a tailored solution.

Your contacts

Novatec_Markus-Mueller

Markus Müller

Director Software Engineering

Dominik Meyer

Managing Director
Table of contents
Your direct contact Markus Müller Director Software Engineering
Novatec_Markus-Mueller

Sie haben Änderungswünsche? Aber sehr gerne…

Agil oder Wasserfall? Wir haben unsere Entscheidung getroffen. Weil wir lange Produktzyklen und Fehler in der Testphase eben nicht cool finden. Und Sie wahrscheinlich auch nicht. Deshalb setzen wir auf innovatives Software Engineering und verstehen das als ganzheitliche Disziplin. Was heißt das für Sie?

Ganz einfach. Wir begleiten Sie in kurzen iterativen Zyklen bis in die Produktion. Das schafft maximale Transparenz und minimiert Risiken: Keine Kostenexplosion während der Projektlaufzeit. Kein fertiges Produkt, das am Ende keiner einsetzen möchte. Immer den Fokus auf die wertvollsten Features gesetzt. Unsere Experten denken und handeln agil, wie sich das für einen Vollblutentwickler gehört.

Das können wir mit Fakten belegen:

100 %
Anteil agiler Projekte
11 Mio.
Bisher größte Anzahl Endbenutzer
40
Teamgröße im größten Projekt

Unser Leistungsportfolio im Bereich Softwareentwicklung

Unsere Dienstleistungen

Ihnen reicht für Ihr Business eine Standardlösung von der Stange nicht aus und Sie möchten eine individuelle Softwarelösung bauen? Sie möchten Ihre Geschäftsprozesse mobil machen und brauchen dafür eine maßgeschneiderte App? Ihre Anwendungen sind in die Jahre gekommen und Sie möchten von den Vorteilen einer Migration in die Cloud profitieren? Wenn Sie diese Fragen beschäftigen, sollten Sie sich unser Angebot im Bereich Softwareentwicklung genauer anschauen:

Unser Vorgehensmodell

Wir entwickeln Software seit vielen Jahren mittels agiler Methoden. So erreichen wir eine signifikante Reduktion des Risikos und schaffen gleichzeitig permanent und frühzeitig einen Wert für Ihr Business. Bei unserem Vorgehensmodell erweitern wir agile Vorgehensweisen, wie beispielsweise Scrum, um wichtige Aspekte des Software Engineerings. Diese Kombination ist der Schlüssel dafür, Software schnell und mit höchster Qualität für Sie zu entwickeln.

Das agile Novatec Vorgehensmodell.Quelle: eigene Darstellung

Vision

Wie in der Abbildung zu sehen ist, beginnen wir mit der Definition einer Produktvision. Dies machen wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen zu Beginn jeder Iteration, so dass ein einheitliches Verständnis besteht. Anstelle ausgefeilter Lasten- und Pflichtenhefte halten wir es beispielsweise für wesentlich zielführender, wenn wir Endanwender-Feedback einholen und daran die Produktvision schärfen.

Was sind Ihre Vorteile daraus? Ein Ergebnis ist in jedem Fall, dass Sie und wir dieselbe Sprache sprechen und so Missverständnissen vorgebeugt wird. Durch stetige Verbesserung und Anpassung der Produktvision stellen wir zudem sicher, dass wir „das Richtige” für Sie bauen. Wir steigern dadurch den Produktwert permanent, minimieren das Risiko und stellen Prototypen und fertige Produkte in schneller Abfolge zur Verfügung.

User Experience (UX) & User Interface (UI)

Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung einer Produktvision ist ganz wesentlich von der Gebrauchstauglichkeit der entstehenden Lösung abhängig. Wir verstehen darunter nicht nur die offensichtlichen Aspekte der Benutzbarkeit einer grafischen Weboberfläche oder einer App, sondern ebenso die für den Gebrauch kritischen Qualitätsanforderungen wie Ausführungsgeschwindigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Sicherheit des Produktes. Die Summe dieser Faktoren bestimmt die User Experience (UX).

Was bedeutet das für Sie? Wir betrachten UX und UI von Beginn an und entwickeln beides im Einklang mit der Evolution der Produktvision permanent weiter. Wann immer machbar wird die User Experience bereits in frühen Iterationen der Implementierung getestet, gemessen und auf Basis des Feedbacks Ihrer Fachexperten optimiert.

Implementierung (Dev)

Technologisch fühlen wir uns am wohlsten auf einem modernen Java- bzw. JVM-Stack, gerne unter Einsatz von Kotlin, Spring Boot oder Micronaut, Quarkus und ähnlich gelagerten Frameworks für das Backend. Für das Frontend setzen wir auf moderne und bekannte Frameworks wie Angular, React oder Vue. Bei den von uns aufgebauten und verwendeten Architekturen achten wir besonders auf Zukunftssicherheit und Skalierbarkeit.

Wir beherrschen Containertechnologien, und realisieren unsere Projekte mittlerweile fast ausschließlich auf Orchestrierungsplattformen wie Kubernetes oder Cloud Foundry. Wir streben eine maximale Automatisierung in der gesamten Build-Pipeline sowie hochgradig automatisierte Tests an.

Das Ergebnis? Wir erstellen Ihre Software unter Einsatz von hohen Qualitäts-Standards. Software-Craftsmanship ist für uns eine Verpflichtung: Wir sind stolz auf die von uns für unsere Kunden handwerklich exzellent gebauten Software-Systeme.

Betrieb (Ops)

Ihre Anwendung bringen wir üblicherweise vollständig automatisiert mittels Continuous Integration (CI) und Continuous Deployment (CD) in Betrieb. Dies bedeutet, dass Code mehrmals täglich integriert wird, dass Tests automatisiert die Integration prüfen und dass das Deployment der Software auf alle Umgebungen, also auch in die Produktion, automatisiert erfolgt. In der Produktion stellen wir Reliability und Resilience sicher und nutzen Verfahren zur automatisierten Überwachung des Systems zur Laufzeit.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Vorteil liegt in den einfachen Möglichkeiten für die Skalierung – Wir haben Erfahrung darin, ein System auch kurzfristig auf mehrere Millionen weltweiter Endbenutzer hochzufahren oder auf die Verarbeitung mehrerer zehntausend Aufrufe pro Minute.

Wie Sie davon profitieren? Änderungen an der Software, egal ob Fehlerbehebung oder wichtige Erweiterung zur Verbesserung Ihres Geschäfts, sind damit in wenigen Minuten in Produktion. Und nicht mehr wie früher in Monaten. Außerdem erreichen wir mit Hilfe von Automatisierung eine kontinuierliche Sicherstellung der Qualität. So erkennen wir Fehler oft bevor sie ein Endanwender bemerkt und meldet.

Unser Zusammenarbeitsmodell

Verlässlichkeit, langjährige Partnerschaft auf Augenhöhe und jederzeit vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit sind die Eckpfeiler unseres Projekt-Engagements.

Agile Entwicklung von Software ist unsere Leidenschaft – Das Setup bestimmen Sie!

  • Sie haben die Anforderungen, aber Ihnen fehlen die Entwicklungsteams. Dann bauen wir gerne Ihre Software und stellen Ihnen komplette Teams.
  • Sie haben viel vor und brauchen mehr Entwicklungspower? Dann bilden wir gemeinsame Teams, die passgenau die notwendigen Kompetenzen besitzen.
  • Sie brauchen gezielt Verstärkung? Wir unterstützen Sie mit den richtigen KollegenInnen in Ihrem cross-funktionalen Team.

Sie sehen, alles ist denkbar und alles ist möglich. Und ob wir vor Ort bei Ihnen oder bei uns im Office arbeiten bestimmen Sie.

Aber hier hört das Zusammenarbeitsmodell noch nicht auf. Mittels Agile Nearshoring durch unsere Software Engineers in Granada, Spanien, können wir Ihren Bedarf an Skalierung problemlos abdecken. Anders als bei Offshoring sind die KollegInnen dort in derselben Zeitzone, auf dem selben Wissensstand und ebenso enthusiastische SoftwareentwicklerInnen.

Was zeichnet unsere SoftwareentwicklerInnen aus?

Alle unsere Softwareentwicklerinnen sehen die agile Entwicklung als Teil ihrer DNA und verfügen über breite Kenntnisse aller notwendigen Tools und Techniken. Sie lieben es Code zu produzieren und keine geduldigen Powerpoints. Und wenn ganz spezielle Expertise gefragt ist, dann denken und handeln wir interdisziplinär: mit Hilfe unserer KollegInnen aus der Beratung können wir Sie zu vielen Themen beraten, so dass Sie die für Sie richtigen Entscheidungen treffen.

Wir setzen ihr Vorhaben um – Agil und mit Herzblut!

Der Großteil unserer Mitarbeiter arbeitet langjährig für einen Kunden. Schnelle und unnötige Projektrotationen sind in unserem Zusammenarbeitsmodell nicht vorgesehen. Ist trotzdem ein Wechsel notwendig, wählen wir die neuen Teammitglieder in enger Abstimmung mit Ihnen aus und sorgen für ausreichend Einarbeitungsmöglichkeiten.

Natürlich ist bei langjährigen Engagements der Blick über den eigenen Projekt-Tellerrand wichtig. Wir gewährleisten einen permanenten fachlichen Austausch unserer Berater und Software-Entwickler durch unser 4+1 Modell: Wenn es die Projektsituation zulässt – und natürlich haben Projekterfordernisse immer Vorrang – arbeiten die Kollegen 4 Tage im Projekt und einen Tag pro Woche in hausinternen Weiterbildungsprojekten und unseren Communities of Practice.

Unsere Erfolgsgeschichten

Sie wollen konkret sehen, wie wir Softwareentwicklung erfolgreich betreiben. Dann schauen Sie sich die unsere Erfolgsgeschichten an – die selbstverständlich auch die unserer Kunden sind!

Dies sind lediglich einige Beispiele der von uns in der Vergangenheit durchgeführten Projekte.

Finden Sie sich wieder? Haben Sie den Bedarf an einer vergleichbaren Entwicklung? Kommen Sie auf uns zu und lassen Sie uns gemeinsam überlegen, wie wir Ihr Geschäft durch den Bau einer maßgeschneiderten Lösung beschleunigen.

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Novatec_Markus-Mueller

Markus Müller

Director Software Engineering

Dominik Meyer

Managing Director
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Ihr Ansprechpartner Markus Müller Director Software Engineering
Novatec_Markus-Mueller